2008 Presidential Dollar Coins

2008 Presidential Dollar Coins

Coin Series

The Presidential Dollar series began its second year in 2008. The series was launched in the prior year as another attempt to create a dollar coin series that would achieve widespread circulation. The Presidential Dollars featured unique edge lettering, which placed two mottoes “In God We Trust” and “E Pluribus Unum” and the date and mint mark on the edge of each coin. The reverse of each coin features a depiction of the Statue of Liberty designed by Don Everhart.

In 2008, four Presidents were honored on their own dollar coin. They represent the fourth through eighth Presidents of the United States with each dollar coin released in the order they served. The following Presidents were honored in 2008:

The 2008 Presidential Dollars have the distinction of being the last year to feature the “In God We Trust” motto on the edge of the coin. Legislation was introduced to move the motto to either the obverse or reverse of the coin as soon as practicable. The US Mint chose to move the motto to the front of the coin starting with the 2009 Presidential Dollars.

The release dates for the coins were February 14, 2008 for James Monroe, May 15, 2008 for John Quincy Adams, August 14, 2008 for Andrew Jackson, and November 13, 2008 for Martin Van Buren. Visit any of the links above for more information about each coin.

Coin Specifications

Date: 2008
Mint: Philadelphia and Denver (circulating coins), San Francisco (proof coins)
Weight: 8.1 g
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2.0 mm

More Information:

Presidential Dollar Mintage
Presidential Dollar Release Dates