2009 Presidential Dollar Coins

2009 Presidential Dollar Coins

Coin Series

The Presidential Dollar series will enter its third year of release in 2009. The series began in 2007 as a new series of golden colored dollars which would honor our former Presidents. Each year, four different coins have been released to honor our Presidents in the order they served. The reverse of each coin features a rendition of the Statue of Liberty, which will be used throughout the series.

In 2009, the next four Presidents will be honored. As opposed to some of the earlier Presidents who were more well known, these Presidents are lesser known. It will be interesting to see how this impacts the mintages for the 2009 Presidential Dollars and the collector following for the series. The following Presidents will be honored in 2009:

The 2009 Presidential Dollars will have a notable alteration to the prior coins of the series. The motto “In God We Trust” has been moved to the obverse of the coin. In previous years this motto had appeared on the edge lettering of the coin. Public pressure to move the motto to a place of greater prominence seems to be responsible for the move.  The motto “E Pluribus Unum” as well as the date and mint mark will still appear on the edge lettering of the coins.

The release date for the William Henry Harrison Presidential Dollar is February 19, 2009. The remaining release dates occur in roughly three month intervals throughout the rest of 2009. Visit the links above for the release date of each coin.

Coin Specifications

Date: 2009
Mint: Philadelphia and Denver (circulating coins), San Francisco (proof coins)
Weight: 8.1 g
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2.0 mm

More Information:

Presidential Dollar Mintage
Presidential Dollar Release Dates