2011 Presidential Dollar Coins

The Presidential Dollar Coin Program will enter its fifth year in 2011. Before this year, a total of sixteen different coins were issued to honor the former Presidents of the United States in the order served. For 2011, four more coins will be issued for the 17th to 20th Presidencies.

Each coin features a portrait of the President on the obverse, along with inscriptions indicating the name, order of the Presidency, dates of the term, and the motto “In God We Trust”. The reverse carries an image of the Statue of Liberty.

The 2011 Presidential Dollars will cover the years from 1865 to 1881. The coins will feature:

The obverse portraits of Johnson, Grant, and Hayes are designed and sculpted by Don Everhart. He is also the designer of the reverse for all coins. The portrait of James A. Garfield was designed and sculpted by Phebe Hemphill.

Each Presidential Dollar will be issued for general circulation. Due to requirements of the authorizing legislation, the Federal Reserve Banks must ensure that a supply of each newly released coin is available for financial institutions during a specified period. As a result, collectors can often obtain each coin from local banks as it is released by the US Mint.

The release dates for the 2011 coins begin on February 17, 2011 for the Andrew Johnson Dollar. The remaining coins will follow in roughly equal intervals throughout the rest of the year.

Coin Specifications

Date: 2011
Mint: Philadelphia and Denver (circulating coins), San Francisco (proof coins)
Weight: 8.1 g
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2.0 mm