Hot Springs Quarter

Hot Springs Quarter

Coin Information

The 2010 Hot Springs National Park Quarter was the first release of the new America the Beautiful Quarters Program. Under the ambitious program, a different national park or site from each state, U.S. territory, and the District of Columbia will be portrayed on the reverse design of a circulating quarter.

The reverse design for the Hot Springs Quarter will feature the facade of the park headquarters building. A fountain appears in the foreground and the National Park Service symbol is visible to the right of the door. Inscriptions surrounding the image read “Arkansas”, “Hot Springs”, “E Pluribus Unum”, and the date of issue “2010”. The obverse of the coin features a portrait of George Washington.

The Hot Springs National Park Quarters were released into circulation on April 19, 2010. On the following day, a launch ceremony was held at the park in Hot Springs, Arkansas.

In addition to the release into general circulation, the United States Mint offered numismatic bags and rolls containing circulation strike versions of the coin. Later in the year collectible proof, silver proof, and satin finish versions will be released in different specially issued United States Mint products.

Coin Specifications

Designer: John Flanagan (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Date: 2010
Mints: Philadelphia (P mint mark), Denver (D mint mark), and San Francisco (S mint mark)
Weight: 5.67 g
Composition: 91.67% copper, 8.33% nickel (clad); 90% silver, 10% copper (silver proof)
Diameter: 24.26 mm
Thickness: 1.75 mm

More Information: America the Beautiful Quarters