Australian Lunar Gold Coin Series

Gold Lunar Coin Series

Gold Coin Information

The Australian Lunar Gold Coin Series is produced by the Perth Mint. The coins signify their tradition of minting investor coins portraying Chinese themes.The series ran from 1996-2007 and included the 12 animals of the ancient Chinese Lunar Calendar. The Lunar Gold Series II began in 2008 and will feature the 12 animals again with a different depiction each year.

Each coin contains .9999 pure gold and carries an Australian legal tender face value. The coins have been available in a wide variety of different weights. This includes 1/20 oz, 1/10 oz, 1/4 oz, 1/2 oz, 1 oz, 2 oz, 10 oz, 1 kilo, and 10 kilo coins.

The reverse of each coin includes a depiction of the animal and the Chinese character for that animal. The obverse features an image of Queen Elizabeth II and inscriptions of the weight, face value, and date of the coin. Coins are marked with the “P” mint mark for Perth Mint.

In order, the coins have depicted the mouse, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog, and pig. The releases for 2010 feature the Year of the Tiger.

Coins are currently issued in protective acrylic capsules.

Find Detailed Series Information at

Coin Specifications

Dates: 1996 – 2007 (Series 1), 2008- Present (Series 2)
Mint: Perth Mint
Weight: 31.112 grams
Composition: 99.99% gold
Diameter: 39.34 mm
Thickness: 2.50 mm
Gold Content: 1 troy ounce