Australian Lunar Silver Coin Series

Australian Lunar Silver Coins

Silver Coin Information

The Australian Lunar Silver Coin Series is produced by the Perth Mint in Australia, in addition to a similarly themed and designed gold coin series. The twelve animals of the ancient Chinese Lunar Calendar are depicted on the reverse of each coin, with a different design each year. The first Silver Lunar series began in 1999. The second series began in 2008.

Each coin contains .999 fine silver with a legal tender face value in Australia. The coins have been offered in a wide array of different bullion weights as is often the case with coins produced by the Perth Mint. In the most recent year coins are available in 1/2 oz, 1 oz, 2 oz, 5 oz, 10 oz, 1/2 kilo, 1 kilo, and 10 kilo sizes.

The reverse of each coin features a depiction of the animal and the Chinese character for that animal. This is also expressed in English. The “P” mint mark for the Perth Mint also appears. The obverse features a portrait of Queen Elizabeth II with the inscriptions “Elizabeth II”, “Australia”, the weight, “999 Silver”, the date, and the denomination.

The coins have depicted the following animals: mouse, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog, and pig. The latest release for the Silver Lunar Series II is the Year of the Tiger dated 2010. Coins are presented in protective acrylic capsules.

Coin Specifications

Dates: 1999 – 2010 (Series 1), 2008- Present (Series 2)
Mint: Perth Mint
Weight: 31.135 grams
Composition: 99.9% silver
Diameter: 45.60 mm
Thickness: 2.60  mm
Silver Content: 1 troy ounce

The Perth Mint Australia