2010 Presidential Dollar Coins

2010 Presidential Dollars

The ongoing Presidential Dollars coin series will enter its fourth year in 2010. During the first three years of the series, more than 1.7 billion of the golden colored dollars had been produced for circulation. Despite the large number produced, the public is yet to adopt any widespread circulation of the Presidential Dollar. The series […]

Standing Liberty Quarters

Standing Liberty Quarter

The Standing Liberty Quarter was first minted in 1916 to replace the previous Barber Quarter series. The coins were designed by Hermon A. MacNeil, a Massachusetts sculptor. The series has long captivated collectors with a beautiful design and a key date rarity, which carries one of the lowest mintages for a circulation strike coin in […]

America the Beautiful Quarter Site Register

America the Beautiful Quarters

The new America the Beautiful Quarters series will begin in 2010. This series will continue the current practice of rotating reverse designs for the quarter dollar denomination. A National Park or other National Site will be featured for each state, territory, and the District of Columbia at a rate of five new designs per year, […]

Barber Quarters

The Barber Quarter was introduced in 1892, along with the similarly named and designed quarter and half dollar. These coins were all designed by Charles E. Barber. Similar to the other Barber coin series, these quarters have often been overshadowed by the more popular designs which would replace them. However, in recent years Barber Quarters […]

Australian Lunar Gold Coin Series

Gold Lunar Coin Series

Gold Coin Information The Australian Lunar Gold Coin Series is produced by the Perth Mint. The coins signify their tradition of minting investor coins portraying Chinese themes.The series ran from 1996-2007 and included the 12 animals of the ancient Chinese Lunar Calendar. The Lunar Gold Series II began in 2008 and will feature the 12 […]

Barber Dimes

The Barber Dime was first produced in the year 1892, the same year that the similarly designed quarter dollar and half dollar coins would be released. The coin was designed by Charles E. Barber, who was the chief engraver at the United States Mint. The series was ultimately replaced in 1916 by the more popular […]

Sacagawea Dollars

Sacagawea Dollars

Coin Series Sacagawea Dollars were launched by the United States Mint in the year 2000 as a new circulating “golden dollar” coin. The obverse of the coin featured the Shoshone woman name Sacagawea who had accompanied Lewis and Clark on their famous expedition. The reverse featured a soaring eagle surrounded by thirteen stars. The first […]

Indian Head Cents

The Indian Head Cent represented the second small cent produced by the United States Mint. The coins were minted from 1859 to 1909, with some design alterations and a composition change along the way. The Indian Cent remains one of the most popular coin series of the 19th century for collectors. The obverse of the […]

Shield Nickels

Shield Nickel

The nickel as it came to be known today, began with the Shield Nickel series. This represented the first five cent piece which were struck in an alloy of copper and nickel, as opposed to the half dime, which was struck in 90% silver. The specifications of 75% copper and 25% nickel with a weight […]