District of Columbia & U.S. Territories Quarters

DC & US Territories Quarters

Coin Series

The District of Columbia and United States Territories Quarter Program was authorized by H.R. 2764, the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2008. This was signed into law on December 26, 2007. This program follows the popular 50 State Quarters program to design and issue an additional six quarters.

New circulating commemorative quarters will be issued for the additional United States jurisdictions which are not classified as states. This includes the District of Columbia and the five U.S. Territories. During 2009, the following coins will be issued:

The reverse design for each quarter contains images emblematic of each jurisdiction. The final design choices were officially announced by the US Mint on December 15, 2009. The obverse of the coin will continue to bear the image of George Washington designed by William Cousins after John Flanagan, which was used for the prior State Quarters series.

The first quarter honoring Washington DC will be released on January 26, 2009. The subsequent five issues should be released in roughly two month intervals throughout the remainder of 2009. For the exact dates, visit any of the links above.

Coin Specifications

Date: 2009
Mint: Philadelphia and Denver (circulating coins), San Francisco (proof and silver proof coins)
Weight: 5.67 g
Composition: 91.67% copper, 8.33 nickel (clad coins), 90% silver, 10% copper (silver proof coins)
Diameter: 24.26 mm
Thickness: 1.75 mm