James Madison Presidential Dollar

Coin Information

The James Madison Presidential Dollar was released on November 15, 2007. This was the fourth coin of the Presidential Dollar coin series and the final release for the year 2007. Oddly, no official launch ceremony was held for the release of the coin.

The obverse of the coin was designed by Joel Iskowitz and sculpted by Don Everhart. It features a portrait of James Madison and the inscriptions “James Madison,” “4th President,” and the years of his presidential term “1809-1817″.

The reverse of the coin carries a rendition of the Statue of Liberty design that is used as the common design for all Presidential Dollars. It was designed and sculpted by Don Everhart. The inscriptions read “United States of America” and the denomination “$1″.

The coin has edge lettering which includes the mottoes “In God We Trust” and “E Pluribus Unum.” The date and mint mark are also included on the edge of the coin.

The Philadelphia mint produced 84,560,000 coins. The Denver mint produced 87,780,000 coins. This represented the third consecutive production decline following John Adams and Thomas Jefferson’s decline from each prior production total.

Other 2007 Presidential Dollars:

Coin Specifications

Designer: Joel Iskowitz (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Sculptor: Don Everhart (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Date: 2007
Mint: Philadelphia (P mint mark), Denver (D mint mark), and San Francisco (S mint mark)
Mintage: 84,560,000 Philadelphia, 87,780,000 Denver
Weight: 8.1 g
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2.0 mm

More Information: Presidential Dollars