James Monroe Presidential Dollar

Coin Information

The James Monroe Presidential Dollar was released on February 14, 2008. This was the fifth coin released for the Presidential Dollar series and the first coin released for the year 2008. The official launch ceremony was held at Ash Lawn-Highland in Charlottesville, Virginia. Dan Shaver, the Acting Deputy Director of the United States Mint, Carolyn Coggin Holmes, Ash Lawn-Highland Executive Director, and G. William Thomas, President of the James Monroe Memorial Foundation, were in attendance.

The obverse of the coin was designed and sculpted by Joseph Menna.  It features a portrait of James Monroe and the inscriptions “James Monroe,” “5th President,” and the years of his presidential term “1817-1825″.

The reverse of the coin carries a rendition of the Statue of Liberty designed and sculpted by Don Everhart. This is used as the common reverse design for the entire series.  The inscriptions read “United States of America” and the denomination “$1″.

The coin has edge lettering which includes the mottoes “In God We Trust” and “E Pluribus Unum” and the date and mint mark of the coin.

The Philadelphia mint produced 64,260,000 coins. The Denver mint produced 60,230,000 coins. This marked the fourth consecutive decline in production following declines for Adams, Jefferson, and Madison from each prior production figure.

More 2008 Presidential Dollars:

Coin Specifications

Designer: Joseph Menna (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Sculptor: Joseph Menna (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Date: 2008
Mint: Philadelphia (P mint mark), Denver (D mint mark), and San Francisco (S mint mark)
Mintage: 64,260,000 Philadelphia, 60,230,000 Denver
Weight: 8.1 g
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2.0 mm

More Information: Presidential Dollar