John Adams Presidential Dollar

Coin Information

The John Adams Presidential Dollar was released on May 17, 2007. This was the second coin of the Presidential Dollar coin series. The official launch ceremony for the coin was held in Quincy Massachusetts. The US Mint Director Edmund Moy and Quincy Mayor William J. Phelan were in attendance.

The obverse of the coin was designed by Joel Iskowitz and sculpted by Charles Vickers. It features a portrait of John Adams and the inscriptions “John Adams,” “2nd President,” and the years of his presidential term “1797-1801″.

The reverse of the coin carries a rendition of the Statue of Liberty that is used as the reverse for all coins in the Presidential Dollar series. It was designed and sculpted by Don Everhart. The inscriptions read “United States of America” and the denomination “$1″.

The coin has special edge lettering which includes the mottoes “In God We Trust” and “E Pluribus Unum.” The date and mint mark are also included on the edge of the coin.

The Philadelphia mint produced 112,420,000 coins. The Denver mint produced 112,140,000 coins. From the previous release honoring George Washington, this mintage declined by about one-third.

Other 2007 Presidential Dollars:

Coin Specifications

Designer: Joel Iskowitz (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Sculptor: Charles Vickers (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Date: 2007
Mint: Philadelphia (P mint mark), Denver (D mint mark), and San Francisco (S mint mark)
Mintage: 112,420,000 Philadelphia, 112,140,000 Denver
Weight: 8.1 g
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2.0 mm

More Information: Presidential Dollars