John Quincy Adams Presidential Dollar

Coin Information

The John Quincy Adams Presidential Dollar was released on May 15, 2008. This was the sixth coin released for the Presidential Dollar series and the second coin released for the year 2008. There was no official launch ceremony, however an unofficial ceremony was held in Quincy, Massachusetts. This was the site of the previous John Adams Presidential Dollar launch ceremony.

The obverse of the coin was designed and sculpted by Don Everhart.  It features a portrait of John Quincy Adams and the inscriptions “John Quincy Adams,” “6th President,” and the years of his presidential term “1825-1829″.

The reverse of the coin carries a rendition of the Statue of Liberty , which was also designed and sculpted by Don Everhart. This is used as the common reverse design for the entire series.  The inscriptions read “United States of America” and the denomination “$1″.

The coin has edge lettering which includes the mottoes “In God We Trust” and “E Pluribus Unum” and the date and mint mark of the coin.

The Philadelphia mint produced 57,540,000 coins. The Denver mint produced 57,720,000 coins This marked the fifth consecutive decline in production following declines for Adams, Jefferson, Madison, and Monroe from each prior production figure.

More 2008 Presidential Dollars:

Coin Specifications

Designer: Don Everhart (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Sculptor: Don Everhart (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Date: 2008
Mint: Philadelphia (P mint mark), Denver (D mint mark), and San Francisco (S mint mark)
Mintage: 57,540,000 Philadelphia, 57,720,000 Denver
Weight: 8.1 g
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2.0 mm

More Information: Presidential Dollar