John Tyler Presidential Dollar

Coin Information

The John Tyler Presidential Dollar was released into circulation on May 21, 2009. This marked the second release of the year for the series of golden colored dollar coins honoring the former presidents, and the tenth release of the series overall. An official launch ceremony was held at Sherwood Forest Plantation in Charles City County, Virginia. The United States Mint Deputy Director Andrew Brunhart attended the ceremony.

The obverse of the coin was designed and sculpted by Phebe Hemphill. It features a portrait of John Tyler and the inscriptions “In God We Trust,” “John Tyler,” “10th President,” and the years of his presidential term “1841-1845″. In 2009, the motto “In God We Trust” was moved to the obverse of the coin after appearing on the edge of the coin for the first two years of the series.

The reverse of the coin carries the rendition of the Statue of Liberty designed and sculpted by Don Everhart. This is used as the common reverse design for the entire series. The inscriptions read “United States of America” and the denomination “$1″.

The coin has edge lettering which includes the motto “E Pluribus Unum” and the date and mint mark of the coin.

The John Tyler Dollar marked yet another mintage low for the series. There were 43,540,000 coins produced in Philadelphia and 43,540,000 coins produced in Denver.

Other 2009 Presidential Dollars:

Coin Specifications

Designer: Phebe Hemphill (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Sculptor: Phebe Hemphill (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Date: 2009
Mint: Philadelphia (P mint mark), Denver (D mint mark), and San Francisco (S mint mark)
Mintage: 43,540,000 (Philadelphia), 43,540,000 (Denver)
Weight: 8.1 g
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2.0 mm

More Information: Presidential Dollars