Northern Mariana Islands Quarter

Northern Mariana Islands Quarter

Coin Information

The Northern Mariana Islands Quarter will be the sixth and final release of the D.C. & U.S. Territories Quarter Program. This program will honor the District of Columbia and each U.S. Territory with its own quarter design.

The Northern Mariana Islands were a possession of Spain until 1898. The islands were subsequently sold to Germany, seized by Japan, and finally occupied by America during World War II. The Northern Marianas became a United States Territory in 1975.

The reverse design most prominently depicts a large Latte, which is a stone used as a foundation in native structures. The Latte is surrounded by native plant and animal life of the islands with a sailing vessel in the background. The inscriptions read “Northern Mariana Islands”, “E Pluribus Unum”, and the date. The reverse of the coin was designed by Richard Masters and sculpted by Phebe Hemphill.

The obverse design of the Northern Mariana Islands Quarter will feature the rendition of the George Washington from the prior State Quarters Program. This was designed by John Flanagan following the William Cousins original design.

The Northern Mariana Islands Quarter has a tentative release date scheduled for November 30, 2009. Proof and silver proof versions of the coin have already been produced by the San Francisco mint and released in US Mint sets.

Coin Specifications

Designer: William Cousins after John Flanagan (obverse), Richard Masters (reverse)
Sculptor: William Cousins (obverse), Phebe Hemphill (reverse)
Date: 2009
Mint: Philadelphia (P mint mark), Denver (D mint mark), and San Francisco (S mint mark)
Mintage: TBD
Weight: 5.67 g
Composition: 91.67% copper, 8.33% nickel (clad), 90% silver, 10% copper (silver proof)
Diameter: 24.26 mm
Thickness: 1.75 mm

More Information: US Territories Quarters