US Virgin Islands Quarter

US Virgin Islands Quarter

Coin Information

The US Virgin Islands Quarter will be the fifth release of the DC & US Territories Quarter Program. This program will honor the District of Columbia and each United States Territory with its own unique quarter design.

The Virgin Islands were explored by Christopher Columbus in 1493. The islands were colonized by Denmark in 1666. The United States purchased three main islands St. Croix, St. Thomas, and St. John along with other islets from Denmark in 1917. In 1954, residents of the US Virgin Islands were granted US citizenship.

The reverse design depicts a native bird called the Banana Quit with a flower called the Yellow Cedar. A native tree called the Tyre Palm appears in the background. The three main islands are depicted in the background. The inscriptions read “U.S. Virgin Islands”, “United in Pride and Hope”, “E Pluribus Unum”, and the date. The reverse was designed and sculpted by Joseph Menna.

The obverse design of the Virgin Islands Quarter will feature the rendition of the George Washington from the prior State Quarters Program. This was designed by John Flanagan following the William Cousins original design.

The US Virgin Islands Quarter has a tentative release date scheduled for September 28, 2009. Proof and 90% silver proof coins have already been produced by the San Francisco Mint and released in US Mint issued sets.

Coin Specifications

Designer: William Cousins after John Flanagan (obverse), Joseph Menna (reverse)
Sculptor: William Cousins (obverse), Josepeh Menna (reverse)
Date: 2009
Mint: Philadelphia (P mint mark), Denver (D mint mark), and San Francisco (S mint mark)
Mintage: TBD
Weight: 5.67 g
Composition: 91.67% copper, 8.33% nickel (clad), 90% silver, 10% copper (silver proof)
Diameter: 24.26 mm
Thickness: 1.75 mm

More Information: US Territories Quarters