William Henry Harrison Presidential Dollar

Coin Information

The William Henry Harrison Presidential Dollar was released on February 19, 2009. This was the first Presidential Dollar to be released for 2009, and the eighth to be released in the series overall. The official launch ceremony took place in Charles City, Virginia on Berkeley Plantation. The ceremony was attended by United States Mint Deputy Director Andrew Brunhart.

The obverse of the coin was designed and sculpted by Joseph Menna. It features a portrait of William Henry Harrison and the inscriptions “In God We Trust,” “William Henry Harrison,” “9th President,” and the year of his presidential term “1841”. Notably this will be the first Presidential Dollar coin to carry “In God We Trust” on the obverse of the coin rather than the edge.

The reverse of the coin carries the rendition of the Statue of Liberty designed and sculpted by Don Everhart. This is used as the common reverse design for the entire series. The inscriptions read “United States of America” and the denomination “$1″.

The coin has edge lettering which includes the motto “E Pluribus Unum” and the date and mint mark of the coin.

The William Henry Harrison Dollar had the lowest mintage for the series to date with 43,260,000 coins produced by the Philadelphia Mint and 55,160,000 produced by the Denver Mint.

Other 2009 Presidential Dollars:

Coin Specifications

Designer: Joseph Menna (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Sculptor: Joseph Menna (obverse), Don Everhart (reverse)
Date: 2009
Mint: Philadelphia (P mint mark), Denver (D mint mark), and San Francisco (S mint mark)
Mintage: 43,260,000 (Philadelphia), 55,160,000 (Denver)
Weight: 8.1 g
Composition: 88.5% copper, 6% zinc, 3.5% manganese, 2% nickel
Diameter: 26.5 mm
Thickness: 2.0 mm

More Information: Presidential Dollar