Martin Van Buren’s Liberty First Spouse Gold Coin

Coin Information

The Martin Van Buren’s Liberty First Spouse Gold Coin went on sale at the US Mint on November 26, 2008. This represented the eighth release of the series and the fourth release for 2008. When the Martin Van Buren coin went on sale, sales of the Elizabeth Monroe coin ended. The other prior three releases still remained on sale.

The obverse of Martin Van Buren’s Liberty was originally designed and sculpted by Christian Gobrecht. This image was used on the Liberty Seated Dime, which was produced from 1837 to 1891.  Because Martin Van Buren served as President without a spouse, an image of the allegorical Liberty figures from a circulating coin of his era has been used.  The inscriptions “In God We Trust” and “Liberty” are included. Also included are the date and mint mark, years of Van Buren’s Presidential term “1837-1841″ and “8th Presidency.”

The reverse of the coin was designed by Thomas Cleveland and sculpted by Jim Licaretz. The reverse depicts the young Martin Van Buren reading a book under a tree. Notably, Martin Van Buren was the first President to be born in America while it was an independent nation.

Martin Van Buren’s Liberty First Spouse Coins are available with both proof and uncirculated finishes. The maximum authorized mintage for the coins is 40,000 units across both options. The coins will remain on sale for approximately one year from the start date of sales.

Other 2008 First Spouse Gold Coins:

Elizabeth Monroe First Spouse Gold Coin
Louisa Adams First Spouse Gold Coin
Andrew Jackson’s Liberty First Spouse Gold Coin

Coin Specifications

Designer: Christian Gobrecht (obverse), Christian Gobrecht (reverse)
Sculptor: Thomas Cleveland (obverse), Jim Licaretz (reverse)
Date: 2008
Mint: West Point (W mint mark)
Weight: 0.5000 troy oz. (15.554 g)
Composition: 0.9999 fine gold
Diameter: 1.041 inches (26.49 mm)
Thickness: 0.074 inches (1.88 mm)

More Information: First Spouse Coins